Return To All News
SKN removed Greece’s list of Non-Cooperative states
February 10, 2017

St. Kitts and Nevis has been removed from the Embassy of the Hellenic Republic (Greece) list of non-cooperative states, as there is no institutional framework (formal laws) on administrative assistance between the two countries.


In 2015, the European Commission published a Press Release with a list of international tax havens (taxes imposed at a low rate) and its’ Action Plan for Fair and Efficient Corporate Taxation in the European Union.


St. Kitts and Nevis was included on the national list of ten (10) countries as being non-cooperative, although in August of the previous year, the Federation had completed two reviews by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation Development (OECD) and rated as being “largely compliant”.

St. Kitts and Nevis swayed intensely on its own behalf both locally and abroad, utilizing as many diplomatic forums as possible.

During conferences overseas Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Hon. Mark Brantley availed himself of opportunities to engage the representatives of the respective countries, requesting the criteria for including St Kitts and Nevis on the list and our removal.


It was in the margins of the EU-CELAC Summit held in the Dominican Republic in October 2016 when he had the opportunity to meet face to face with the Greek representative. Later in the year, the matter was again raised when the newly accredited Ambassador visited the Federation.


The Ministry considers the recent decision by Greece to remove St Kitts and Nevis from its list, as a success of these combined efforts. St. Kitts and Nevis has now been removed from the lists of Estonia, Italy and now Greece.


Return To All News

Von Radio © copyright 2008
site developed and hosted by eCaribbean Ltd.