You are currently viewing Resigned electoral commissioners replaced

Resigned electoral commissioners replaced

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News

The Prime Minister Dr. Terrance Drew and the Leader of the Opposition Mark Brantley have moved to replace Electoral Commissioners who resigned on December 1 and 2, 2022.




Attorneys-at-Law Jason Hamilton and O’Grenville Browne resigned as Electoral Commissioners by letters addressed to the Governor-General dated Dec. 1 and 2, 2022 respectively and thus the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition were notified by the Governor-General’s Office, a release from the Federal Government says.




The Prime Minister advised the Governor-General on Friday that Attorney-at-Law Vaughan Henderson has been selected and has agreed to serve as his nominated Electoral Commissioner. On the same day, the Governor-General was advised that the Leader of the Opposition nominated Retired Assistant Commissioner of Police Mr. Joseph Liburd who also agreed to serve as his nominated Electoral Commissioner.




The Prime Minister thanked the two outgoing Electoral Commissioners “for their service to the People of St Kitts and Nevis” and wished the two Electoral Commissioners-Elect well in their new posts and implored them “to be guided by principles of integrity and transparency in their new roles.”




The new Electoral Commissioners-Elect will shortly take office. The Chairman of the Electoral Commission, Attorney-at-Law Nassibou Butler remains in his post