You are currently viewing SKN’s PM heads delegation to eight Caricom-Cuba summit

SKN’s PM heads delegation to eight Caricom-Cuba summit

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News

Prime Minister Dr. Terrance Drew, along with a delegation, is in Bridgetown, Barbados, for the Eight CARICOM-CUBA Summit, which began at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on December 6th.




St. Kitts and Nevis established diplomatic relations with the Republic of Cuba on May 10, 1995.




In accordance with the Havana Declaration of December 2002 which provides for the convening of a CARICOM-Cuba Summit every three years, the Eighth Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and the Republic of Cuba, was scheduled to be held on December 8th 2023.




However, in keeping with the Joint Declaration adopted by the Seventh CARICOM-Cuba Summit and the proposal by the Prime Minister of Barbados, the Eighth CARICOM-Cuba Summit was held in Bridgetown, Barbados, on December 6th. This year’s Summit commemorates 50 years of the establishment of CARICOM-Cuba diplomatic relations.




The Prime Minister is accompanied by Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Denzil Douglas, Permanent Secretary (Ag) in the Prime Minister’s Office, Ms. Naeemah Hazelle, St. Kitts and Nevis’ Resident Ambassador to the Republic of Cuba, Her Excellency Verna Mills among others.