You are currently viewing ECCU Celebrates 39 Years

ECCU Celebrates 39 Years

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News

The Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU) is celebrating 39 years of existence.


The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) was established in October 1983. It is the Monetary Authority for a group of eight island economies namely – Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines, which form the ECCU.


The Agreement establishing the ECCB as the monetary authority for the eight participating governments, was signed on 5th July 1983 in Trinidad and Tobago and officially commissioned on October 1st 1983, replacing the Eastern Caribbean Currency Authority (ECCA) which was established in March, 1965.


To commemorate its anniversary, a special Church Service was held at the Penticostal Church of God in St. Kitts.


Prime Minister, Dr. Terrance Drew who was in attendance of the service made these comments regarding the ECCU 39th anniversary:


Dr. Terrance Drew.


Also in attendance were his family, the Deputy Prime Minister and his family, the Governor and staff of the ECCB.


The primary objective is to maintain the stability of the Eastern Caribbean Currency and the integrity of the banking system.